top of page
  • Writer's pictureAsian Justice Act

My Life as a Multiracial Individual

Updated: Apr 28, 2021

For me, growing up, I was in a mostly white community, I still am. It wasn’t until my early teenage years that I realized that I wasn’t like everyone else and I wasn’t "white". I am bi-racial, half white half filipina, and when I tell people that they immediately say, “you’re not black though”. That in itself shows how, in society today, people gravitate towards seeing either "black" or "white." I find that, similar to mixed black and white kids, I do not completely fit within one race. When I am with Asians, I feel too white, and when I am with white people, I feel too Asian. Recently, I have come to appreciate my mix of both worlds and I am grateful to see from both perspectives: the oppressor and the oppressed. Asians are often stereotyped as very smart and musically inclined. In my classes people would come up to me and ask if I have the homework and expected it to be correct because of my good grades. And, because of me getting those good grades, they assumed it was because of my Asian genes, rather than my hard work. When I see racism towards Asians I am repulsed and taken aback, especially when it is towards the people I identify with as my brothers and sisters, no matter if they are mixed with other races. On the other side of the world from me, we are Asians and must stand up for each other. I remember speaking to one of my teachers about the Dr. Seuss books and how they were being taken away from stores because of the Asian racism present in the books. Instead of conversing about the topic in class, my teacher told me to “read about it first” and moved on. I was furious at the dismissal and unfortunately, I had not read enough to challenge him on the topic and was silenced. This is something that I will not tolerate and something that Asians should not allow. If we are being oppressed and killed in the streets simply because of our race, we must stick up for each other and fight for the respect we deserve.

- Felise Coulon on her life growing up mixed raced

bottom of page